20 September 2022

Inaugural Environmental Finance Sustainable Company Awards winners revealed

The inaugural winners of the annual Environmental Finance Sustainable Company Awards have been announced, recognising some of the companies taking the lead in transforming their business practices for a sustainable future.

Selected by a panel of more than 30 independent industry judges, the maiden awards have attracted hundreds of entries and resulted in a number of worth winners.

Ceres chief executive Mindy Lubber picked up an award for her long-standing role as a sustainability thought leader, whilst Systemiq's Katherine Stodulka and Eliza MacMillan Scott secured net-zero champion and rising star of the year awards, respectively.

Meanwhile, Experian and Energias de Portugal (EDP) received awards for their community involvement programmes and Schneider Electric was recognised for its innovative supply chain initiative.

Sustainability reporting successes at Moody's and United Utilities were also honoured, as was the net-zero progress of City Developments, Bank of America and BNP Paribas.

See the full list of the 27 award winners here, including the winners of the regional awards for nature-based initiative and product innovations of the year.

"There is an exceptional amount of innovative work on sustainability going on across the world in such a diverse array of companies," said Environmental Finance assistant editor Ahren Lester.

"These new awards were launched to provide an insight into some of this important but sometimes underappreciated work," he added. "Many congratulations to all the winners of the 2022 awards, they provide a great way to recognise your leadership in some of the most critical but complex sustainability areas."

"I would also like to thank the all of our independent judges for taking the time to assess the entries," Lester said. "With the quality of entries received, it was no easy task."

Reports by Thomas Cox, Michael Hurley, Madeleine Jenkins, Ahren Lester, Genevieve Redgrave and Peter Cripps.